November 29, 2022

Solid State Lighting Design

Find latest world news and headlines today based on politics, crime, entertainment, sports, lifestyle, technology and many more

Lightning question avalanche OT goal after apparently missed penalty

Lightning question avalanche OT goal after apparently missed penalty
Placeholder while loading article actions

TAMPA – As Colorado Avalanche players flock to the ice to celebrate Overtime victory in Game 4 of the Stanley Cup Finals On Wednesday night, there was already a building frustrated by the Tampa Bay Lightning seat.

The Lightning appeared to have trouble with game-winner Nazim Qadri with 7:58 remaining in overtime, with coach John Cooper making a tense and emotional statement later that night. And no, it didn’t appear that the concern was about Kadri’s shot, which beat Lightning goalkeeper Andrei Vasilevskiy over his right shoulder before disappearing briefly as the disc embed himself in the net.

After that, the focus was instead on whether Colorado made an illegal streak change that led directly to Kadri’s goal, which gave Avalanche a 3-2 win on the road and had them in control of a better-of-seven streak.

Avalanche now holds the 3-1 lead, with Game 5 set Friday night in Colorado.

Nazim Qadri puts the avalanche on the cusp of a title with the winner of the fourth game

“This is going to hurt a lot more than the others, just because he was taking… it was probably… I don’t know… it’s hard for me,” Cooper said in a brief post-match press conference on Wednesday night. “It will be difficult for me to speak… You will see what I mean when you see the winning goal. My heart goes out to the players because maybe we still have to play.”

While Cooper didn’t explicitly mention too many men on icy offenses during his press conference, in which he only took one question before excusing himself, a closer look at the play shows why two-time Stanley Cup champion Tampa Bay was upset.

See also  Leaders shot coach Sam Mills' third defensive line, and upgraded Jeff Zgonina

Close viewing of the broadcast showed that the avalanche had six snowboarders before Qadri scored a goal. When Kadri made his move into the net to beat Vasilevskiy, Colorado star Nathan McKinnon was still on his feet on the ice as he tried to jump off the bench to complete the change. NHL rules state that skaters must be within five feet of their seats and out of the next play before a shift change is made.

On Thursday, Cooper made it clear that he thought officials missed the call on the ice, but wanted to move on and look forward to the rest of the series.

“I got some excitement for Game 5 and that’s where my mind now turns to how to win that,” Cooper said. “no [anything] We can do to return. I missed them. It’s unfortunate, but it’s water under the bridge now. Let’s get ready. It should be a Hell 5 game.”

Penalties imposed by too many men, even when a goal has been scored, are not subject to review.

“Too many men on ice is a decision that can be made by any of the four officials on the ice,” NHL Hockey Operations said in a late-night statement. “After the match, the Hockey Operations Department met with the four officials as is their usual protocol. When discussing the winning goal, each of the four officials advised that they did not see too many men on the ice in the play.”

The controversy did not continue until after the match when he was Handing over the official registration paper to the media Six snowboarders scored for my destiny goal. The NHL later told reporters that it was a mistake, and that Colorado defender Eric Johnson, was mistakenly listed.

See also  The Warriors improved to 9-1 at home this season, defeating the Jazz 129-118

Avalanche coach Jared Bednar said Wednesday night that he thought the goal was good, no matter what combo Tampa Bay tried to push. He said, “I did not hear any confusion.”

Kadri, who was playing his first game in the series after undergoing thumb surgery earlier in the month, said he was also unsure why Cooper questioned the legitimacy of his goal.

“I’m not entirely sure what it really was, and what he was thinking why it shouldn’t count. That kind of baffled me a little bit,” Kadri said on Wednesday. “The ball hit the back of the net, end of the story, so I’m not sure why he said that. “

Tampa Bay defender Ryan McDonagh didn’t have much to say about the call Thursday, noting that as a player, “You’re looking for every inch to get an edge and try to jump into play.”