July 24, 2024

Solid State Lighting Design

Find latest world news and headlines today based on politics, crime, entertainment, sports, lifestyle, technology and many more

Watch NASA astronauts collect microbial samples during a spacewalk on the International Space Station today (live video)

Watch NASA astronauts collect microbial samples during a spacewalk on the International Space Station today (live video)

Two NASA astronauts will venture outside the International Space Station today (June 13) and you can watch it live online for free.

NASA astronauts Tracey Caldwell Dyson and Matthew Dominick will perform a spacewalk, or extravehicular activity (EVA). The procedure is scheduled to begin on 8 a.m. EST (1200 GMT) It lasts about 6.5 hours.

You can watch International Space Station (ISS) activity on this page and the Space.com home page, provided by NASA, or you can watch the live stream Via the space agency. Coverage will start at 6:30 AM EST (1030 GMT). (You can read more about spacewalks and how they work on our EVA reference page.)

NASA astronaut Tracey Caldwell Dyson (center) inspects the spacesuits of NASA colleagues Michael Barratt (right) and Matthew Dominick during preparations for a spacewalk on the International Space Station on June 5, 2024. (Image credit: NASA)

During the spacewalk, the duo will recover a faulty piece of communications equipment, known as a radio frequency array. Dyson will also survey the exterior of the space station to collect samples to study microorganisms in extreme microgravity environments.