July 18, 2024

Solid State Lighting Design

Find latest world news and headlines today based on politics, crime, entertainment, sports, lifestyle, technology and many more

Panama retains group of Venezuelans with fraudulent Schengen visas

Panama retains group of Venezuelans with fraudulent Schengen visas
/ Photo: Courtesy (Panama Migration)

A group of 11 Venezuelan citizens, including four minors, were detained by Panamanian immigration inspectors after they were found to be carrying fraudulent passports with visas to the Schengen area (with free movement in Europe).

After consulting the European Union (EU) liaison officer, it was confirmed that there was no record of these visas in its verification system, a statement from the National Migration Service (SNM) said.

These unidentified individuals arrived in Panama from Caracas, Venezuela, on a connection with Mexico, and investigators found discrepancies in their visas.

A visa for a Schengen country allows travel to all countries of the Schengen area and must be requested from the destination country of travel.

There are 26 countries with Schengen visa: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sweden and Switzerland. EFE

See also  Latest and live news of Russia's war in Ukraine